Agencies   |   Online Services   |   State Directory

Arkansas State Bank Department

The mission of ASBD is to maintain a legal and regulatory structure for Arkansas's financial industry. This structure provides the public with convenient, safe and competitive banking, which fosters economic development within this State. Our mission is accomplished through efficient allocation of available human and other resources existing in our Examination, Information Technology and Administrative Services Divisions.

State Banking Board

Board Meeting Minutes



The State Banking Board was originally created under Act 60 of 1933. The Board consists of six (6) members. The members serve for five (5) years.

The powers and duties of the board include: Pass upon bank charter applications and charter amendments; pass upon proposed reorganizations, mergers and consolidations and conversion from National Charter to State Charter; power to permit banks to change location of place of business from one city to another; etc.

The Commissioner and the State Banking Board have full authority to issue rules and regulations.

The board holds regular meetings four (4) times a year on the third Thursday of January, April, July and October. The Bank Commissioner or the Chairman of the Board may reset the meeting after giving notice as required by regulation or may call special meetings as needed.



Randy Scott - Chairman

Term Expires: 12-31-2025

Todd Smith

Term Expires: 12-31-2024

Andy Davis

Term Expires: 12-31-2026

Allen Kerr

Little Rock
Term Expires: 12-31-2028

Gary Head

Little Rock
Term Expires: 12-31-2028

Rusty Lanier

Little Rock
Term Expires: 12-31-2028

The Great Seal of Arkansas

The State Bank Department was created by Act 113 of 1913. The Department is charged with regulating state-chartered commercial banks with main offices in Arkansas. These 73 banks hold assets of over $162 billion as of March 31, 2024. The Department also is charged with supervising the bank holding companies of Arkansas state-chartered banks; state-chartered trust companies; regional and county industrial development corporations; industrial loan institutions; and capital development companies. The Department operates to ensure the safety and soundness of, and public confidence in, these institutions and organizations.

Submit a complaint Frequently Asked Questions