Agencies   |   Online Services   |   State Directory

Arkansas State Bank Department

The mission of ASBD is to maintain a legal and regulatory structure for Arkansas's financial industry. This structure provides the public with convenient, safe and competitive banking, which fosters economic development within this State. Our mission is accomplished through efficient allocation of available human and other resources existing in our Examination, Information Technology and Administrative Services Divisions.

CSBS Press Release

May 19th, 2021

Washington, D.C. – The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) announced the election of Montana Commissioner of Banking and Financial Institutions Melanie Hall as the new chair of the CSBS Board of Directors.  CSBS also elected new officers for 2021-22 and announced new committee chair appointments.

Newly installed officers, who comprise the CSBS Executive Committee, include:

  • Chair: Melanie Hall
  • Chair Elect: Tom Fite, Indiana Department of Financial Institutions Director
  • Vice Chair: Lise Kruse, North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions Commissioner
  • Treasurer: Charlie Clark, Washington State Department of Financial Institutions Director
  • Secretary: Tony Salazar, Maryland Office of Financial Regulation Commissioner
  • Immediate Past Chair: Kevin B. Hagler, Georgia Department of Banking and Finance Commissioner

At-Large Board members are:

  • Jeff Plagge, Iowa Division of Banking Superintendent
  • Iris Ikeda, Hawaii Division of Financial Institutions Commissioner

Chair, District I: Linda Lacewell, New York State Department of Financial Services Superintendent

Chair, District II: Kevin Allard, Ohio Division of Financial Institutions Superintendent

Chair, District III: Susannah T. Marshall, Arkansas State Bank Department Commissioner

Chair, District IV: Charles G. Cooper, Texas Department of Banking Commissioner

Chair, District V: Shaun Berrett, Utah Industrial Banks Supervisor


< Back to News

The Great Seal of Arkansas

The State Bank Department was created by Act 113 of 1913. The Department is charged with regulating commercial banks with main offices in Arkansas. These 73 banks hold assets of over $132.4 billion as of June 30, 2021. The Department also is charged with supervising the bank holding companies of Arkansas state-chartered banks; state-chartered trust companies; regional and county industrial development corporations; industrial loan institutions; and capital development companies. The Department operates to ensure the safety and soundness of, and public confidence in, these institutions and organizations.

Submit a complaint Frequently Asked Questions