Agencies   |   Online Services   |   State Directory

Arkansas State Bank Department

The mission of ASBD is to maintain a legal and regulatory structure for Arkansas's financial industry. This structure provides the public with convenient, safe and competitive banking, which fosters economic development within this State. Our mission is accomplished through efficient allocation of available human and other resources existing in our Examination, Information Technology and Administrative Services Divisions.

New State Bank Charter

Jul 5th, 2022

Congratulations to The Bank of 1889, Berryville, Arkansas.  The First National Bank of North Arkansas, Berryville, Arkansas converted from a National Bank to a State-Chartered Bank.  The State Banking Board approved the application on June 28, 2022.


A few people holding a certificateDescription automatically generated with medium confidence

Left to Right: Doug Carr, Bank Commissioner Susannah Marshall and Bill Hudpseth.


< Back to News

The Great Seal of Arkansas

The State Bank Department was created by Act 113 of 1913. The Department is charged with regulating commercial banks with main offices in Arkansas. These 74 banks hold assets of over $147.1 billion as of June 30, 2022. The Department also is charged with supervising the bank holding companies of Arkansas state-chartered banks; state-chartered trust companies; regional and county industrial development corporations; industrial loan institutions; and capital development companies. The Department operates to ensure the safety and soundness of, and public confidence in, these institutions and organizations.

Submit a complaint Frequently Asked Questions